Valor Award

Shortly after the end of World War II, an annual Valor Award presentation was initiated by the American Legion Aviators' Post No. 743 to recognize a military aviator who performed a feat of valor during the prior year as determined by an Aviators' Post panel.

The Valor Award was written into official Air Force regulations in 1953. In 1970, it was expanded to include a member of each of the three services who performed "a conspicuous act of valor or courage during an aerial flight" the preceding year. Valor Award recipients are now chosen at the highest levels of their respective service and approved by the office of the corresponding Chief of Staff.

Aviators' Post Valor Award recipients are a select few and represent a proud tradition. Learn more about USAFA grads who have been honored with the Valor Award below.

We are currently researching earlier graduates who are recipients of this award. This list is not complete.

Award Year Recipient Rank and Name USAFA Class Aircraft
1971 Col. Rowland H. Worrell 1968
1981 Capt. Raymond F. Haile 1974 C-141
2010 Maj. Matthew A. Astroth 2000 AC-130
2011 Capt. R. Jeffrey Donaldson 2006 HH-60G
2012 Lt. Col. Eric C. Grace 1994 A-10
2013 Capt. Nathan R. Lowry 2007 HH-60G
2014 Maj. Gregory S. Lecrone 2000 MC-130J
2016 Capt. Brian J. Farmer 2011 A-10C

Click the award year to open the award citation, and click the recipient name to view their biography.

Academy Heritage

Southeast Asia Pavilion

The pavilion along the Heritage Trail has already become a major point of interest for the Academy ...