

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS SPECIAL MEETING**

5 April 2021 Meeting Minutes APPROVED

**Board Members Present via Video Conference**: Cathy McClain '82, Chair; Bob Lowe '71, Vice Chair; Ginny Caine Tonneson '80, Secretary; Glenn Strebe '87, Treasurer; Hans Mueh '66; Garry Dudley '68; Mark Volcheff '75; Frank Gorenc '79; Randy Helms '79, President, Class Advisory Senate; Will Gunn '80; Diann Boyle '83; Dennis Dabney '89; John Vargas '96; Nancy Taylor '01; Andrew Hendel '09; Emma Przybyslawski '10.

**AOG Staff Present via Video Conference**: Mike Gould '76, CEO; Marty Marcolongo '88, President/COO; Corrie Grubbs, Senior Vice President, Operations.

#### I. Call to Order/Chairman's Welcome

Chair McClain called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. MDT on Monday, 5 April 2021.

# II. Agenda

The agenda items included the appointment of a new Joint CEO Evaluation and Compensation Committee chair, consideration of an honorary AOG membership, and selection of two Appointed Directors to fill the seats that will be vacated by Directors Gorenc and Vargas in May 2021.

MOTION: Director Tonneson moved and Director Volcheff seconded to approve the agenda as is. The motion was unanimously approved.

### **III.** Executive Session

The Board went into executive session IAW Bylaws Article V Section 8 at 4:02 p.m. MDT to appoint a new Joint CEO Evaluation and Compensation Committee chair.

## IV. Open Session

The Board went into open session at 4:03 p.m. MDT.

MOTION: Chair McClain moved that Director Lowe be named the new Joint CEO Evaluation and Compensation Committee chair. The motion was unanimously approved. (See Attachment 1 for the updated committee listing.)

#### V. Executive Session

The Board went into executive session IAW Bylaws Article V Section 8 at 4:04 p.m. MDT to discuss an honorary membership. Director Tonneson recused herself from the discussion and vote related to the potential honorary member.

# VI. Open Session

The Board went into open session at 4:20 p.m. MDT.

MOTION: Director Lowe moved and Chair McClain seconded that Brig Gen (Ret) Philip D. Caine be named an Honorary AOG Member. The motion was unanimously approved. The AOG will determine how he will be recognized. Director Tonneson rejoined the meeting.

#### VII. Executive Session

The Board went into executive session IAW Bylaws Article V Section 8 at 4:21 p.m. MDT to discuss filling the two Appointed Director positions. Director Strebe recused himself from this discussion.

## VIII. Open Session

The Board went into open session at 4:47 p.m. MDT.

MOTION: Director Volcheff moved and Director Lowe seconded to make Director Strebe an Appointed Director. The motion was unanimously approved.

#### IX. Executive Session

The Board went into executive session IAW Bylaws Article V Section 8 at 4:48 p.m. MDT to select the second Appointed Director. Director Strebe rejoined the meeting for the discussion.

## X. Open Session

The Board went into open session at 4:57 p.m. MDT.

MOTION: Director Dudley moved and Director Gunn seconded for the Board to vote between the two top candidates and to offer the Appointed Director position to the candidate with the most votes. If he declined, the position would be offered to the runner-up. The motion was unanimously approved. A vote was taken and the Appointed Director position will be offered to Joe Bledsoe '11.

## **XI.** Chair's Comments

Chair McClain thanked the Nominating Committee for their hard work with the election and Director Gorenc for contacting the candidates. She also thanked CEO Gould, President/COO Marcolongo, and SVP Grubbs for their hard work, particularly with the videos the AOG produced for Founder's Day. She also mentioned the excellent USAFA *Dignity and Respect* video. CEO Gould noted that the Distinguished Graduate activities will take place on 5-7 Aug, which corresponds with the quarterly Board meeting. Several Directors then thanked Directors Vargas and Gorenc for their service on the Board.

# XII. Adjournment

Chair McClain adjourned the meeting at 5:33 p.m. MDT.

Respectfully submitted, Virginia Caine Tonneson, Secretary

Atch:

1. Committees of the Board